Reflection: Individual Reflection (So Far)

For most of the posts, I have discussed my group’s progress and the reflection of our team effort. However, for this post, I want to reflect on my own progress and what I would like to achieve by the end of this project.

As the researcher of the group, I feel that I have fulfilled my role by researching the history of hip-hop which is important for us to fully understand our audience and the content we’re making, but most significantly the knowledge pillar. I tend to take on a more technical role, such as camera operator or editor, but it has been a fun challenge to focus more on the development of the project.

I have also come up with some (what I think are good) creative contributions, which is an area I struggle with, seeing as I’m most comfortable with post-production.  Therefore, I am pleased that I have taken on a more pro-active and decision making role, which has enabled me to be more creative and imaginative, which I think has been enhanced by the creativity of this task. For example, I’ve provided lots of ideas in group meetings, such as different shapes for the pillars and a 360 perspective when we’re filming the dancer. Even though, the group decided to use two static cameras, I thought we could be more creative by using 360 tracking shots to make the dancer appear more 3D and more exciting. I am not disheartened by my ideas not being used, as I am pleased that I’m beginning to think more creatively and outside the box.

Although I’ve been the researcher for the group, I’ve enjoyed taking pictures of our group’s progress to improve my photography skills and my sheer eye for detail and composition. I believe that improving my photography skills will enable me to become more familiar with framing and lighting, which will also further develop my cinematography skills. This is something I wish to continue to develop for the rest of the project, as well as my research skills.

This picture of Shane at our RECCE is an example of the photos I have taken whilst on location.

10407915_797309213692102_8339789670047820284_n

Leave a comment